When I first fell in love with, what I later discovered was the Mulberry Bayswater, I had no idea that it was the start of my passion for designer bags. It all began during the summer of 2004 when I’d recently started a new job. My new commute led me past one of Mulberry’s boutiques twice a day, every weekday. On one of these days its window drew me to a thing of beauty in the form of a pale brown leather bag. I soon began to notice this iconic bag, in a number of colours, on the arms and shoulders of City girls and fashionistas. I don’t know how I’d never noticed her (as we all know bags like ships are feminine) before but my interest had been well and truly ignited.

I will never forget the day I went to collect her – I was so excited. There’s something so inviting about Mulberry stores with their gorgeous displays and the beautiful aroma of good quality leather. The presentation and wrapping is always feels so decadent. That said, I could hardly wait to take her home and unwrap her ahead of her first outing.

She’s older now and we’ve been through a lot together. She remains well-loved, and even though Mulberry has just superseded her by a new model, as another saying goes, “you never forget your first love”, and I never will.  Tell us what you think about the Mulberry Bayswater in the comments below.

Love designer bags? Let’s share!

sos_blog_mulberrybayswater.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

